Winter Warmer/Spiced Beer from Scotch Strong Ale kit?

General brewing information, questions and discussion. Topics that do not seem to fit elsewhere.

Moderators: slothrob, 2row

brewfeller
Light Lager
Light Lager

Winter Warmer/Spiced Beer from Scotch Strong Ale kit?

Post by brewfeller »

I am planning to brew a Winter Warmer spiced beer.
I was thinking about starting with maybe a Scotch Strong Ale kit and then spicing that with Ginger, Cinnamon, Orange zest, cloves, cardomom nutmeg etc.
I was looking at the kit from http://www.windriverbrew.com/darkales.html
the price is right for 12 lbs of malt extract included in the kit. and Peat smoked malt as well.
What do you think?
I have never used a kit before but it seems like an economical way to do it.
I just brewed a Mocha Oatmeal stout with just 6 lbs of extract and with grains and hops and yeast it came to about $47 bucks. The price savings is tempting.

By the way does anyone have a recipe for an American Strong Ale? Like a
Stone Arrogant !@#$ clone? That might be a good one to spice up!

PieOPah
Light Lager
Light Lager

Post by PieOPah »

In the past when I used kits, I often tried adding things to make them more interesting.

To a stout I added a bottle of Ginger wine
To a different stout I added a few pots of freshly brewed coffee (3 pots but never changed the powder and never added more).

There were a variety of other experiments (similar to what you are doing now).

The only one that had any success was the coffee. In ALL other instances, the added flavour dissappeared after a couple of weeks. From this experience I would say it is a waste of time and effort doing anything extra to kits. Dry hopping is about the only thing I would suggest....

Obviously this is just my experience and others may have better methods than I did!
brewer13210
Pale Ale
Pale Ale

Post by brewer13210 »