NO CARBONATION!!!!

What went wrong? Was this supposed to happen? Should I throw it out? What do I do now?

Moderator: slothrob

dartedplus
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

NO CARBONATION!!!!

Post by dartedplus »

I have been brewing for a couple of years and this has never happened to me. One of my batches, after a month in the bottle has no fizz... I did nothing different than I have for years, but I have have flat beer. Is there anything I can do to salvage this batch or is it just $25 down the drain...literally. any help is greatly appreciated. Ed
TTTony
Light Lager
Light Lager

Did you do anything different?

Post by TTTony »

How long was it fermenting? Was it subject to a big temperature change maybe?

If you can't do anything with it, you could always artificially carbonate!
xbrewer
Light Lager
Light Lager

flat beer salvage

Post by xbrewer »

If you had a healthy fermentation, added the proper amount of priming sugar after fermentation, and stored the bottled beer at the proper temperature then it should be carbonated. Sometimes things just don't turn out as they should. Since the beer has been bottled rather than kegged, forced carbonation probably wouldn't be a practical remedy. You might try uncapping each bottle and adding a small amount of corn sugar and recapping. If that doesn't work, a good undercorbonated homebrew is often better than the mass produced stuff.
dartedplus
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

nothing different

Post by dartedplus »

it fermented for about 3 1/2 weeks, but i didnt do anything different. Its in bottles, so how can I artificially carbonate?
dartedplus
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

thats the same idea i had

Post by dartedplus »