Basic beer recipe

Grains, malts, hops, yeast, water and other ingredients used to brew. Recipe reviews and suggestions.

Moderator: slothrob

waiter23

Basic beer recipe

Post by waiter23 »

I just brewed my first batch of beer, I am new to homebrewing, and will be bottling in about 7 days( used a secondary fermenter). I kind of followed the basic recipe but tweaked it a little. This is the recipe:

1 lb crytal malt (crushed) Starting sp grav 1.045
2 cans muttons amber malt extract
1 oz hallertau pellets 45 min
1/2 0z hallertau pellets 15 min
1/2 oz hallertau pellets 5 min

1/2 oz fuggles pellets dry hopped Secondary sp grav 1.018

My question is- What type/style of beer is this considered? And any comments on how the finished beer may turn out?
brewer13210
Pale Ale
Pale Ale

Post by brewer13210 »

A lot of factors will determine how the finished beer will turn out; what type of yeast was used, fermentation temperature, duration and intensity of the boil, sanitation, water chemistry, how fresh the hops were, etc., etc., etc.

Based on ingredients alone, probably a mildly hoppy amber ale...nothing over the top, which is probably a good idea if you're just starting out.

When you've finally bottled it, and let it carbonate, let us know what you think.

Todd
ColoradoBrewer
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

Re: Basic beer recipe

Post by ColoradoBrewer »

waiter23 wrote:...And any comments on how the finished beer may turn out?