Corks for beer bottling

Buying, building and using brewing equipment and apparatus. Product reviews and questions.

Moderator: slothrob

fully_krausened
Light Lager
Light Lager

Corks for beer bottling

Post by fully_krausened »

Hey folks,
I searched the archives but did not come up with any hits on this. I have a bunch of the bottles you get Belgian ales in, the kind woth corks and the wire baskets. I want to reuse them and that means using corks. What size corks would I need? I have never worked with corks before. I realize some folks frown on corks but they seem to work fine for the commerical brews and ones that are cellared at that... Also, is there a source for those wire baskets? I was able to figure out that apparently the corks are straight when they go in but mushroom from the pressure. So I assume standard corks would work, I just do not know how they fit size wise. Any ideas?
Thanks.
fully_krausened
Light Lager
Light Lager

Okay,
Strike that. How about this. Anyone who also bottles wine, could someone explain that process as a starting point for my experiments? :?:
What is involved other than a corker and corks? Is there any special preperation of the corks to make inserting easier (soaking?) Or do you just plunge them in? Any tips would be great. I am going to give it a try and see what happens. Thanks.
slothrob

Post by slothrob »

There's a couple threads about this you can read if you do a search over at forum.northernbrewer.com. You can get Belgian corks from morebeer.com that require a floor corker and plastic champagne corks from northernbrewer.com that might not require a fancy corker.

That's the sum total of my knowledge of corking.
BTP v2.0.* Windows XP
fully_krausened
Light Lager
Light Lager

Excellent.
Thank you once again slothrob. I Found plenty of information there to get me into all sorts if trouble... :lol: