Carboy v. Bucket

Buying, building and using brewing equipment and apparatus. Product reviews and questions.

Moderator: slothrob

Jargent

Carboy v. Bucket

Post by Jargent »

Hey folks,
Again, I'm new to homebrewing. Wondering the differences between Carboys and Buckets other than the shape. I've done three brews succussfully with just buckets. Do carboys impart any special characteristics that I don't know of? They seem harder to work with.
bredmakr
Double IPA
Double IPA

glass vs plastic

Post by bredmakr »

The biggest and most significant difference between buckets and carboys is the difference between glass and plastic. Plastic fermentors are great and I have used one successfully for many, many batches of beer. However, over time the inside of the buckets, no matter how carefull you are, will get scratched and become more of a contamination concern. Bacteria and other nasties can hang out in the scratches and contaminate your beer resulting is sometimes strong off-flavors. So because the carboys are made of glass they are by nature a lower risk container for contamination and easier to keep clean. Having said that I have used buckets successfully for many batches of beer by following one rule: keep everything clean. After primary fermentation I clean the bucket and then leave about a gallon of water with sanitizing solution in the bucket to help keep the nasties away between uses. So, you can use buckets as long as you keep them clean. Long term though, glass carboys are the answer and they allow you to observe the convection currents within the fermentor during fermentation. Which is really cool. I'd use the 6.5 gallon size for fermentation and 5 gallon for secondary. Have fun!!!
andytv
Double IPA
Double IPA

O2 and Conditioning

Post by andytv »