Homemade Equipment

Buying, building and using brewing equipment and apparatus. Product reviews and questions.

Moderator: slothrob

mprofitt

Homemade Equipment

Post by mprofitt »

Does anyone have some homemade equipment they would be interested in sharing along with pictures and a mini how-to?
Azorean Brewer
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

What level brewer are you ?

Post by Azorean Brewer »

MP,

I am interested in knowing if you are extract, partial mash, or all grainer, it makes a differecne when you are looking for equipment ...

Paul.
mprofitt

Reply to

Post by mprofitt »

I am a beginner and I am using extract.
bigdosgood
Light Lager
Light Lager

Equipment

Post by bigdosgood »

Most any Homebrew Shop has equipment and it isn't that expensive compared to the headaches of making your own. Check out www.schoville.com he has some stuff he made to show. www.brewtree.com has also got the real stuff so you can compare. Just do a search for homebrew supplies and tings like that, you will be suprised what all you can find.
fitz
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

The truth

Post by fitz »

Since many of us here are seasoned brewers, most of us say the bigger is better. Homebrewing is a great hobby/lifestyle, but some get frustrated and don't continue. Since you are just starting, you will need:
-A primary fermentor 6.5 gal + This can be a bucket that you can attach an air lock to This can be made if you can find a big enough bucket
-A secondary fermentor usually glass carboy
-Bottling bucket Can be same as primary if it has a spigot as long as you do the secondary ferment
-a LARGE pot to boil your wort(bigger is better)
-transfer tubing, racking cane, hydrometer, capper, thermometer, bottle filler, air locks, rubber stoppers to fit the airlock, etc.
Or you can buy a beginners brewing kit to make sure you like the hobby, and go from there
bigdosgood
Light Lager
Light Lager

I agree

Post by bigdosgood »