brewing a wit, have a few questions.

Brewing processes and methods. How to brew using extract, partial or all-grain. Tips and tricks.

Moderator: slothrob

Suthrncomfrt1884
Double IPA
Double IPA

brewing a wit, have a few questions.

Post by Suthrncomfrt1884 »

I'll be brewing a belgian wit on friday, and just wanted to get a few questions out of the way first. This is my first try at wheat beer since I've heard it's a little hard to mash.

1. Since the recipe I've come up with is 50% wheat and flaked wheat, is there anything special I can do to prevent a stuck sparge? I've read that rice hulls help, so should I just use those like I would any other grain?

2. When it comes to orange peel, I've read a few different opinions. Some say that the pre-packaged dry peel you can find at your LHBS loses a lot of flavor by the time it gets to your brew. Others say that fresh orange peel will give off a metallic flavor. Any input?

3. I'm using 2lbs of flaked wheat in my recipe. Should this be milled or left alone?
Primary - Belgian Dubbel, Belgian IPA
Secondary - Cherry Lambic
Bottled - Bourbon Barrel Coffee Porter, Double Chocolate Raspberry Stout, Imperial Nut Brown, Apfelwein, American Amber Ale w/Homegrown Hops, Breakfast Stout
Kegged - Bass Clone, ESB
wottaguy
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

RE: brewing a wit, have a few questions.

Post by wottaguy »

Suthrncomfrt1884...

Wits are awesome and fast to the glass!

Concerning your question 1 & 3...Due to the amount of flaked wheat you want to use, you will definitely need to use some rice hulls to avoid a stuck mash. I would probably use at least a half a pound or even up to a full pound which should do the trick. Milling the flakes is not necessary as they are pre gelatinized and will break down quickly.