New to Beer Tools and have a few Questions

General discussion on BeerTools Pro Software.
egaberik

New to Beer Tools and have a few Questions

Post by egaberik »

Hey All. I'm completely new to Beer Tool, this forum, and relatively new to homebrewing with only 4 brews under my belt. I just recently got a Mac and was introduced to Beer Tools. Question is I have a couple recipes that are all grain and right now I am only a Extract Brewer. Is there a way I can enter an all grain recipe into the program and have it convert me an extract recipe? Also it is late at night and maybe I am just being dumb right now but is there any resources that will give me detailed info on how to set up my equipment in the program? I think I understood most of it in the manual but there were a few questions I had that I will get back to you with in the morning. Hopefully this newbie didn't sound too dumb with those questions and look foward to a response. Thanks for the help guys.

Eric
slothrob

new to BTP

Post by slothrob »

BTP will not automatically convert all-grain recipes to extract. It will help you in working through the conversion, however, due to it's powerful recipe formulation abilities. I'd be glad to help you get started on learning to make those conversions, if you need any assistance.

I think you will find the dialog windows that pop-up for the equipment when you create the entries to be generally self-explanatory. For example, if you ever create a mash tun, you'll see that it asks for you to add hot water, then enter temperatures after specific times. The program will then use this to predict future water temperatures. If you have any specific questions, just ask.
BTP v2.0.* Windows XP
egaberik

Post by egaberik »

Thanks for the reply. I would love some help on making those conversions as I have no idea how to do it. I'm sure its not to hard but I just don't know how to start.

Eric
slothrob

AG to Extract

Post by slothrob »